2018 Volleyball Preseason Team Announced

WICHITA, Kan. – Kansas Collegiate Athletic Conference Head Volleyball Coaches have selected the 2018 Preseason All-KCAC Volleyball Team.  The group, which is made up of returning 2017 first and second team All-KCAC performers, was chosen at the KCAC Sport Management Conference hosted by Bethany College on August 7.


Student-athletes highlighting the 2018 preseason team are Freshman of the Year Kenadee Valdez of Oklahoma Wesleyan University, Kenna Hall of Ottawa University, and Lexi Kite of McPherson College.


Valdez, a outside hitter for the Eagles, was a 2017 KCAC Volleyball second team selection and picked as KCAC Freshman of the Year. The Houston, Texas native finished the year with 293 kills, 120 sets, 87 errors, and a 0.302 hitting percentage. Valdez ranked second in the conference and 48th nationally in hitting percentage, and led the team in blocks with 96 during her freshman campaign.


Hall, a senior at Ottawa, was a first team selection last season after leading the Braves in kills (563) and blocks (107). The DeSoto, Kan. native ranked sixth in the NAIA in total kills, and 32nd in kills per game (3.590).


A senior from Thornton, Colo., Kite led the Bulldogs with 410 kills last season and ranked third in the KCAC with 3.7 kills per set. Kite also ranked 24th nationally in kills per game and 50th in total kills during her junior season.


Representing Oklahoma Wesleyan on the team are Sydney Garis and Kenadee Valdez.


2018 KCAC Preseason Volleyball Team


Name School Cl. Hometown
Kenna Hall Ottawa University Sr. DeSoto, Kan.
Lexi Kite McPherson College Sr. Thornton, Colo.
Chelsey Riffel Sterling College Sr. Sterling, Kan.
Yuleika Jimenez Ottawa University Jr. Caracas, Venezuela
Madalyn Swinicki Friends University Sr. Wichita, Kan.
Katy Koepke University of Saint Mary Sr. Shawnee Mission, Kan.
Sydney Garis Oklahoma Wesleyan University Sr. Austin, Texas
Kenadee Valdez Oklahoma Wesleyan University So. Houston, Texas
Mikaela Wells Sterling College Sr. Haven, Kan.
Jamie Siess McPherson College Jr. Tecumseh, Kan.
Liz Heit Ottawa University Sr. Augusta, Kan.
Kendra Kroeker Tabor College Jr. Enid, Okla.
Catabrean Baumann Southwestern College Sr. Tulsa, Okla.
Jana Boston Friends University Jr. Newton, Kan.
Taylor Dodge Kansas Wesleyan University Jr. Strasburg, Colo.


Original Article Via KCAC