Muncy, Wersland, & Perez Named To 2020 KCAC Baseball Preseason Team


The Kansas Collegiate Athletic Conference is pleased to announce the 2020 KCAC Baseball Preseason Team, as voted on by the baseball head coaches in the conference.

Oklahoma Wesleyan and Tabor lead the conference with three players each on the preseason team. Sterling, McPherson, and Ottawa each placed two players on the squad. York, Saint Mary, Kansas Wesleyan, Bethany, and Friends all were represented by one player.

Nine players return that were on All-KCAC teams a season ago. That group includes six All-KCAC first team and three All-KCAC second team honorees. First team returners include Christian Stone (Tabor), Matt Nunes (York), Trevor Johnson (McPherson), Daunte Freeman (Saint Mary), Jarrod Manick (McPherson), and Troy Puga (Friends). 2019 KCAC Baseball Freshman of the Year Jeremiah Arellano of Ottawa highlights the group of second team players returning, which also includes Darrick Watts of Tabor and Danny Perez of Oklahoma Wesleyan.

2019 KCAC Baseball Statistics

All returning 2019 All-KCAC First Team and Second Team performers were automatically nominated for preseason honors. Head baseball coaches also had the opportunity to nominate other key members from their teams. The team is made up of thirteen seniors, two juniors, and two sophomores.

Preseason Team
Name School Position Year Hometown
Cody Muncy Oklahoma Wesleyan University 1B Jr. Red Oak, Okla.
Christian Stone* Tabor College 2B Sr. Mooresville, N.C.
Armando Flores Sterling College 3B Sr. Merced, Calif.
Matt Johnson Tabor College SS Sr. Wichita, Kan.
Matt Nunes* York College C Sr. Fowler, Calif.
Trevor Johnson* McPherson College C Jr. San Diego, Calif.
Daunte Freeman* University of Saint Mary OF Sr. Sacramento, Calif.
Jeremiah Arellano^ Ottawa University OF So. Pueblo, Colo.
Isaac Wersland Oklahoma Wesleyan University OF Sr. Cle Elum, Wash.
Wesley Galloway Sterling College OF Sr. Fairfield, Calif.
Jarrod Manick* McPherson College P Sr. Aldergrove, B.C., Canada
Jared Gray Ottawa University P Sr. Auburn, Wash.
Darrick Watts^ Tabor College P Sr. Arvada, Colo.
Jake Olofson Kansas Wesleyan University P Sr. Livermore, Calif.
Jason Nowlin Bethany College P So. Houston, Texas
Troy Puga* Friends University DH/Util. Sr. Pueblo, Colo.
Danny Perez^ Oklahoma Wesleyan University DH/Util. Sr. Queens, N.Y.


* = 2019 All-KCAC First Team

^ = 2019 All-KCAC Second Team