Valeria Benavides Named To 2020 KCAC Women’s Tennis Scholar Athletes List

WICHITA, Kan. — The KCAC is proud to announce that 40 women’s tennis student-athletes have been named 2019-20 KCAC Scholar Athletes. Beginning in the spring 2020 season, the KCAC scholar athlete and scholar team awards are now sponsored by Barnes & Noble College. Barnes & Noble College is now the official campus bookstore and course material provider of the KCAC.

Ten institutions have representatives in this group. Friends University leads the way with seven honorees. The group is made up of eleven sophomores, twelve juniors, and seventeen seniors.

Student-athletes must have sophomore standing at the start of the sport season, and maintain a minimum grade point average of 3.25 on a 4.0 scale.

The KCAC Women’s Tennis Scholar Athletes are:

Amanda Starkel Bethany College Jr. McPherson, Kan.
Giovana D’Amici Riberio Ferreira Bethany College Jr. Santos, Brazil
Karas Foreso Bethany College Sr. Aurora, Colo.
Lauren Piracun Bethany College Jr. Bogota, Colombia
Marissa Roberts Bethany College So. Salina, Kan.
Sydney Carrasco Bethany College So. Rancho Cucamonga, Calif.
Erica Ebenkamp Bethel College Sr. Conway Springs, Kan.
Jennifer Harrison Bethel College Sr. Fort Scott, Kan.
Kaci Wilson Bethel College Sr. Sterling, Kan.
Kaycee McClelland Bethel College Sr. Newton, Kan.
Abigail Thibodeau Friends University Sr. Fort Mills, S.C.
Amanda Zavala Friends University Sr. Haysville, Kan.
Ariel Williams Friends University Sr. Haysville, Kan.
Cassidy Darrah Friends University Sr. Maize, Kan.
Madeline Watson Friends University Sr. Wichita, Kan.
Matty Donaldson Friends University Sr. Haysville, Kan.
Sydney McGrown Friends University So. Wichita, Kan.
Jessica Smith Kansas Wesleyan University Jr. Salina, Kan.
Karley Benson Kansas Wesleyan University Jr. Salina, Kan.
Zofia Selwesiuk Kansas Wesleyan University So. Wroclaw, Poland
Brittany Zipf McPherson College Sr. Rockhampton, Australia
Erica Paradise McPherson College So. Bakersfield, Calif.
Sydney Hicks McPherson College So. Thornton, Colo.
Valeria Benavides Oklahoma Wesleyan University Sr. El Paso, Texas
Abby Norris Ottawa University So. Parkville, Mo.
Gabriela Arias Ottawa University Sr. Glen Burnie, Md.
Tayler Alterman Ottawa University So. Ottawa, Kan.
Alexa Powers Southwestern College So. Bixby, Okla.
Emilia Schroghuber Southwestern College So. Muhldorf, Germany
Emily Berry Southwestern College Jr. Cimarron, Kan.
Janae Ryan Sterling College Jr. Claflin, Kan.
Keeley Hipp Sterling College Jr. Claflin, Kan.
Kylah Comley Sterling College Jr. Sterling, Kan.
Maddie Thrasher Sterling College Jr. Sterling, Kan.
Nicole Marin Sterling College So. Caracas, Venezuela
Abigail Berggren Tabor College Jr. Tribune, Kan.
Kayla Roth Tabor College Jr. Kingman, Kan.
Olivia Brubacher Tabor College Sr. Hesston, Kan.
Rebecca Kaufman Tabor College Sr. Hillsboro, Kan.
Tessa Isaac Tabor College Sr. Sterling, Kan.


Throughout April, the KCAC will be releasing the scholar athlete and Champions of Character honorees for all spring sports. Despite the cancellation of the 2020 NAIA spring sports season due to COVID-19, the KCAC aims to put a spotlight on the spring sports athletes who excelled in the classroom and contributed to their communities and schools.

The following are the next two honors to be recognized:

Thursday, April 16 – M/W Tennis Champions of Character
Monday, April 20 – Softball Scholar Athletes