As the new academic year begins, Oklahoma Wesleyan announced the placement of two new deans: Dr. Gentry Sutton and Dean Jessica Johnson.

Jessica Johnson 1Professor Jessica Johnson has been at OKWU since 2013 as an Assistant Professor of Nursing. This year, she has taken on an additional role as Dean of Nursing, after serving as interim dean since the summer of 2014. Previously, Professor Johnson taught at Northwest Arkansas Community College and worked as a registered nurse.

Dean Johnson earned her Bachelor’s in Nursing at Pittsburg State University and completed her Master degree at Northeastern State. She is currently pursuing her doctorate in Nursing Practice.

“Each day I am blessed to share my passion for nursing with my students” says Dean Johnson. “I am given the opportunity to serve, encourage, and enable my students to fulfill God’s purpose for their life and their calling.”

Professor Johnson is also passionate about missions, and notes that her mission field as a professor is in her work: helping “prepare nurses to go out and be the hands and heart of Christ.”

Dr. Sutton will lead the School of Arts & Sciences in addition to being a new Assistant Professor of English.

gentry-sutton-2-crop2Dr. Sutton has both a Bachelor’s and Master degrees in English, along with a Doctorate of Educational Ministry. He has spent his professional career in higher education, beginning at Thomas Edison State College and then moving to Sterling College where he served in a number of leadership roles.

An Oklahoma native, Dr. Sutton has watched with interest as Oklahoma Wesleyan’s success grew as a university committed to “educating the whole person and to promoting high academic standards within the context of a traditional biblical worldview.”

“In a culture that constantly spews complicated and confounding information and often cheapens the gift of language,” he says, “I consider it an honor and a serious responsibility to teach people how to communicate effectively and with integrity.”

These new deans join the academic leadership team with recently-named Dean of the Chesapeake Energy School of Business, Dr. Brian Epperson.