Oklahoma Wesleyan University’s Croquet team was among 25 doubles teams participating in this year’s USCA Philadelphia National Tournament at the Merion Cricket Club in Haverford, PA. Teams included U. S. Naval Academy, St. John University, College of William & Mary, Princeton University, State University of New York, and Case Western Reserve.

OKWU’s team was started several years ago and is coached by retired librarian and senior croquet medalist, Wendell Thompson. This year, former team member and alum, Daniel Johnston is the assistant coach. This year’s team only included one returning member, Aaron Fratzke. New to the team this year are Colton Frederick, Peter Pendergrass, Austin Gibson, Nathaniel Sanborn, Caleb WIlson, C.J. Ross and Colton Miller.

Doubles teams competed in five games of pool play with 16 teams making the playoffs in a single elimination bracket. Nathaniel Sanborn and Caleb Wilson were undefeated in pool play and so were seeded #1 playing #16 seed OKWU’s Austin Gibson and Ross Courtain.

OKWU Croquet Team Champs 2015

Championship Doubles Team Aaron Fratzke and Colton Frederick

Aaron Fratzke and Colton Frederick (4 – 1) were seeded #3 joined by Peter Pendergrass and Colton Miller (4-1) seeded #6 in round of 16.

OKWU’s doubles Sanborn/Wilson, Fratzke/Frederick and Pendergrass/Miller advanced to the Elite Eight.

Sanborn/Wilson advanced to final four, while Fratzke/Frederick defeated the other OKWU doubles team of Pendergrass/Miller to advance to final four.

In the final four, Fratzke/Frederick defeated U. S. Naval Academy to advance to championship game. The OKWU doubles team of Sanborn/Wilson defeated State University of New York to also advance to the championship game.

Fratzke and Frederick prevailed and won the Championship overall giving Sanborn and Wilson their only loss for the tournament. With two teams in the championship game, the team of Colton Miller and Peter Pendergrass taking 5th, and C.J. Ross and Austin Gibson taking 16th place, OKWU earned enough points to win the tournament.

OKWU has won National Collegiate Golf Croquet Championship three out of last five years: 2011, 2013, 2015. Congratulations to Coach Thompson and the gentlemen for representing Oklahoma Wesleyan out East once again!



Skip to content