Creative Impact

After winning Oklahoma Teacher of the Year honors in 2022, Peterson was named the 2023 National Teacher of the Year earlier this week.

The 2009 Oklahoma Wesleyan graduate is a math teacher at Union High School in Tulsa, Oklahoma, and was chosen for the award from a pool of five finalists by the Council of Chief State School Officers (CCSSO), a nonprofit organization.


Dr. Jill Biden congratulates Peterson on CBS Mornings. Photo credit:

Peterson, in an appearance on Wednesday’s “CBS Mornings,” said, “I’m so grateful to represent this incredibly powerful profession.” Dr. Jill Biden congratulated Peterson on this prestigious honor.


For the past year, Peterson has been on hiatus as an ambassador for teachers in the state public school system. She was also named a finalist for the Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching.

Peterson has also been praised for her “One Good Thing” blog, where she posts positive updates from her classroom. To date, she has posted over 1,400 updates. Since becoming the Oklahoma Teacher of the Year, she has started sharing other teachers’ good things on social media.

Several of her students congratulated her during the show. Photo credit:

With this new honor, Peterson is expected to serve as an ambassador and advocate for educators and students for the next year.

CCSSO’s National Teacher of the Year Program recognizes exceptional teachers nationwide, providing professional development opportunities and empowering them to engage in policy discussions. The 2023 National Teacher of the Year was selected from a group of five finalists, who were selected from among a group of 55 State Teachers of the Year.

Join us in congratulating Rebecka Peterson for living out the mission to Be One Sent!


Check out this earlier story on Peterson and her journey to OKWU and the teaching profession.

See Peterson’s appearance on “CBS Mornings” here

Rebecka Peterson honored

Peterson was recognized at Homecoming 2022 for being named Oklahoma Teacher of the Year.


Skip to content